Said about us

Reviews, Viking History Tour:

Dec 16, 2018, TripAdvisor review

Wonderful hospitality at Hokeriet, Granby
We visited Hokeriet at Granby farm for lunch as part of our Viking tour. Lunch consisted of produce from the farm itself or other local produce. The food was delicious and a great showcase for local artisan food production, some of which was also available for purchase. Lise was warm and welcoming and apart from preparing our lunch, also accompanied us up the hill to visit the site of a longhouse and Viking village and magnificent rune stone. Lise and her family are fortunate in living with so much Viking history and also generous in sharing that history with others. Thank you Lise, I hope others discover the gems of Granby!

pennyg


August 2018, Viator review
Realmente fascinante, lo recomiendo al 100.

Armando


May 2018
Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. We stopped at various spots to see old runes. We also made a stop at a wonderful farm, where we were given delicious homemade rhubarb pie and coffee. The trip concludes in Sig Tuna, before heading back to Stockholm. It’s a great 1/2 day trip out of Stockholm to learn some history, see old runes, and hear about the Vikings.

K Kristine C


April 2018
Really awesome tour…very informative. Would do again!

D Daniel B


January 2018
‘Truly wonderful. I had a splendid time taking this half-day tour while in Stockholm. It was limited to a tiny group of people and our guide, who was friendly, pleasant, and incredible knowledgeable, led us to many of the most fascinating and beautiful Viking sights. I probably would not have had a chance to visit these ruins and sights in person otherwise. Highly recommended.

John T


January 2018
This was a great tour to get around the different sites to learn about Viking history. Despite the weather being rainy and cold, it was a great trip and would highly recommend!

Amanda C


December 2017
Amazing tour! Just beware many of the stops are muddy during the rainy season!

Denise Carlin


September 2017
This was a wonderful experience! We loved our guide, we think his name was Unger and his knowledge of the Viking history with regards to the churches, people and the rune stones. He could actually read some of the letters on them! It was great to be able to choose from several places for lunch in Sigtuna and what great views and terrific food! Excellent tour. He picked us up at our hotel and then dropped us off at a museum we talked about visiting later that day. That does not happen in many other tours.

slhagstrom39


April 2017
Great value, great guide, and a TON of Swedish history!

Jeffrey B


April 2017
Eine sehr gute Führung. Man konnte nur ein Stückchen außerhalb von Stockholm etwas vom Land sehen, und durch die ausgezeichnete Reiseleitung viel Hintergrundinformation erfahren. Eine Reise auf den Spuren der Wikinger. Wirklich sehr empfehlenswert.

Karin W

More reviews of our Viking History Tour »


Reviews, Viking History Extended Tour:

October 2018
Excellent trip to get a good overview of local viking history. Guide was excellent and had so many facts.

Darrstephens1


October 2018
Our guide, Urban, was above and beyond all our expectations. His knowledge and willingness to share it with all passengers was superb. We enjoyed every minute of the trip: from the moment Urban picked us up from the hotel to the moment of saying goodbye at the location, that was not included into the trip, but we asked Urban if he could drop us somewhere near a public transportation station, so we may go over there. And Urban just drove us to the place. We can’t appreciate more his job. He showed us not only history of Sweden and Vikings but also showed heartwarming respect to the customers.I would definitely recommend the Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm including Upsala to everyone who is interested in Scandinavian history. And especially if the guide will be Urban.

Illya K


September 2018
Really enjoyed the tour for the opportunity to see the wonderful countryside of Sweden. Wish it had been about an hour shorter. The guide was very knowledgeable about the Vikings but I wish he had explained more about why they did what they did.

Gail A


August 2018
Extraordinaire découverte de l’histoire des Vikings en exploirant leur territoire et les vestiges ! Une magnifique journée tres instructive avec un guide fantastique ( qui se prénomme Urban), tres professionnel , tres interressant donnant des explications durant la journée entière et tres sympathique ! Il fait vivre pleinement cette mémorable journée !Nous faisons de nombreux arrêts tres interressants à la fois pour les adultes et pour les enfants/ados. Excursion complète avec une extraordinire pause café/gâteau incluse dans une magnifique ferme implantée sur les anciens territoires Vikings dont les vestiges se trouvent devant nos yeux! Nous visitons la magnifique petite ville de Sigtuna avec temps libre pour dejeuner où l’on veut , puis visite de la ville de Uppsala et son extraordinaire cathedrale chargée d’histoire de la présence des Vikings. Je dois également préciser que notre chauffeur/guide vient nous chercher et nous ramène à l’hotel et ce, d’une ponctualité exemplaire ! De plus, le minibus est tout neuf, extrêmement confortable et nous sommes 16 personnes au maximum, ce qui rend l’excursion quasi privative !C’est une fabuleuse journée, une extraordinaire expérience et je la recommande à 300% pour tout le monde ! Et un grand merci à notre guide Urban , il donne « vie «  à cette excursion!

Tommy


April 2018
This was a great educational tour. We ended out Vikings Homelands on Viking Cruise ships with this land tour while we stayed in Sweden. It was nice to get away form the city and see some of the country side. The town we had lunch in was very quiet and peaceful. Our driver and tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely take this tour again.

Shani J


January 2018
Great day trip. Smooth pick up and nice little bus to take us around. The tour guide was excellent, kept us all entertained and educated. The areas we visited were beautiful and intriguing. Nice stop for refreshments and very impressed by the old stones and countryside.

MegBleep


August 2017
This was a great trip, even in the rain. Countryside was beautiful and the guide like his history and enjoyed telling the tales of it.

Mary


August 2017
Excellent guide, very kind, a lot of knowledge of the subject, spoke perfect English. Tour was very through and very illustrative of all viking/ Swedish history. Great lunch break in nature seeing traditional Swedish. One of my best experiences with tours.

Ishel B


May 2017
After reading some of the prior reviews and taking the tour, I believe if you are looking for a cheesy Hollywood Viking tour that will entertain you with fluff for eight hours straight, this is not your tour. However, if you are looking for a deep history of the Vikings and the areas inhabited by the Vikings north of Stockholm while seeing these famous sites first-hand, this is most certainly your tour. Urban is a wonderful tour guide who takes absolute care of his guests. He has a deep knowledge of Viking lore and history while providing his own narrative on things that he thinks the history books may have gotten wrong. He has clearly done this for quite a while as he is precise and thorough in his agenda throughout the tour. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get out of Stockholm for a day to see these sites first-hand and learn about the Viking era.

Michael R

More reviews of our Viking History Extended Tour »

Top